• Bravo
  • Inetasia Solutions
  • China Hockey Group
  • Bravo
  • Inetasia Solutions
  • China Hockey Group
  • Sam Wai
Powerplay Sports and Entertainment

Hockey Central

SCIHL 2020-21 Champions - Sapporo

Sapporo comes back from 5-0 deficit against InetAsia to win 7-5 in an exciting Championship game!

No words can explain the SCIHL Final that was played before a sold-out crowd at the Elements mall. Perhaps we can try … wow, holy smokes, unbelievable, or you’re kidding me? There were two storylines to this game.

First, the start:
InetAsia took a 2-0 first period lead as they were all over Sapporo. In the second period, they continued their dominance and popped in 3 more goals beginning with Keith Hong’s second of the game, just 10 seconds in. Francois Esterhuizen and Mike Lam scored the others and InetAsia had a commanding 5-0 lead. Time to take out the champagne?

Sapporo had other ideas. Like they have during the entire season, they were the ‘come-back team’, but this one was a tough one, especially against the top team and with less than half a game to play.

Second, the finish:
Donald Chow got it going with a powerplay goal with 6 minutes remaining in the second period. Heading into the third period with a 5-1 lead, InetAsia was still in the driver’s seat. However, two early goals in the third gave Sapporo a huge boost as Scott Strickland and Hugo Fan was able to beat goaltender Ray Loo. A few minutes later, Sapporo scored another pair of goals by Fan and Chow and wouldn’t you know it, the game was now tied at 5. Sapporo kept coming and then Jonas Gullstrand got the go-ahead goal with 4:36 remaining. Yes, it was 6-5 for Sapporo at that point.

InetAsia was shocked and stunned but they still have time left. However, they could not beat Sapporo goaltender Loron Orris and Chow sealed the deal with his hat trick goal into an empty net with 4 seconds remaining.

What a game!

Congratulations to GM Paul Chai, team Sapporo and Telford International who is the team sponsor.

Of note, Donald Chow was named the playoff Most Valuable Player.

The Three Stars:
1) Donald Chow (Sapporo)
2) Hugo Fan (Sapporo)
3) Loron Orris (Sapporo)